Records of Exotics Slams

Steve Mahurin and his 36" Aoudad Sheep

The system of keeping records of exotics and recognizing hunter accomplishments was started in 1976 . This system is now widely recognized as the beginning of records keeping in the exotics industry.

This system was started by a man named Thompson Temple.Thompson has since become widely renowned as one of the top experts in the exotics industry. The first Records of Exotics Record Book was offered in that same year of 1976 and contained 215 entries.

This method of scoring is very simple and almost anyone can become proficient in using it with a little study. This system has grown by leaps and bounds and in the last few years has received thousands of entries from hunters from all over the United States, as well as from many countries around the world.

That's the history lesson and now we will talk about and compare the different types of slams recognized by the Records of Exotics Record Book. A slam consists of a specific number of species.

The first of these slams and the one usually completed first by hunters is the Texas Sheep Slam. This slam consists of the Corsican Sheep, the Texas Dall Sheep, the Mouflon Sheep, and the Black Hawaiian Sheep.

The next slam is usually pretty easy to complete since it consists of the same animals that are in the Texas Sheep Slam with the addition of two more species. Those two animals are the Catalina Goat and the Merino Sheep. This slam is called the Big Horn Slam.

Next on our list is the Cazador Slam. Where Thompson came up with that name I don't know, but that's what it is called. This slam consists of five totally different species of animals than the preceding ones. Those animals are the Aoudad Sheep, Axis Deer, Blackbuck Antelope, Fallow Deer, and the Sika Deer.

The next and probably the hardest to complete is the Super Slam of Exotics. The Super Slam has the same five animals as the Cazador Slam plus five more, different, species. Those five animals are the Catalina Goat, Corsican Sheep, Ibex, Mouflon Sheep, and the Red Deer, which is probably the most expensive of the ten to acquire. The process can be long and somewhat expensive, but well worth the wait and effort.

There also a slam called the Safari Slam, which consists of any sixteen species that are recognized by the Records of Exotics. By the time you finish up the other slams you already have fourteen of the sixteen species needed.

There are two other slams that are a little more specialized. They are the Fallow and Sika Deer Slams. The Fallow Slam requires you to take one of each of the three-color phases of Fallow Deer. These are the White, Spotted, and Brown Fallow. The Sika slam consists of one each of the three sub- species of Sikas, which are the Japanese, Formosan, and Manchurian, which is commonly called the Dybowski Sika.

Thats it for the slams, now lets go to the next page and see what we are hunting for.

The Exotics-Page2 Outfitting and Taxadermy
Back to UltimateSportsmen.Com

Related Resources:
Hunting Accidents
Nursing assistance training High School to through college
Degree completion
Masters in health administration
Administration affiliation program
Accident prevention program


"ULTIMATESPORTSMEN.COM" is a Registered Servicemark.
All Rights Reserved, All content with exception of private works and
corporate trademarked logos are property of
Tales of the Ultimate Sportsmen.©1997-2011